1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Web heading alert level 2


Covid-19 Alert Level update

17 September 2020


New Zealand stays at Alert Level 2 for now


All New Zealand, including Auckland, remains at Alert Level 2 until Monday 21 September.


Cabinet will look at moving the country, excluding Auckland, to level 1 from 11.59pm on 21 September.


Auckland's settings will be reviewed on 21 September with a view to increasing gathering limits. If it is deemed safe, these limits would come into effect on 23 September.


All inter-regional travel is now allowed. This brings the risk of Aucklanders who may be infected spreading the virus to other parts of the country, or visitors to Auckland picking up the virus and taking it home.


Therefore, we are asking those in Auckland in particular to exercise common sense and caution. Don’t travel just because you can. If you do travel, take precautions.



Getting tested for Covid-19


If you are sick call your GP or Healthline on 0800 3585453.


If you are asked, please get tested at the Whanganui Hospital campus community based assessment centre (CBAC) or at your GP.


If you have flu-like symptoms, a cough, sore throat, fever, shortness of breath, runny nose, sneezing or loss of sense of smell, you should be tested for Covid-19 at the CBAC on the Whanganui Hospital campus.


CBAC opening hours


The Whanganui hospital campus CBAC is open 8am to 5pm on Monday to Friday and 9am to 1pm on Saturday and Sunday. 


This is a drive-in/walk-in service. There is no charge and no need for an appointment.


For after hours service, call Whanganui Accident and Medical (WAM) on 06 3481300.


Getting tested at your GP practice 


If you are visiting your general practice and it’s more convenient to be assessed there, this is also an option. Please make contact with them. General practices (GPs) in Raetihi, Taihape, Bulls and Marton can assess their rural communities – please ring first.


More information on testing for Covid-19




Where to get more information 


The latest information can be found on www.covid19.govt.nz or the Unite Against Covid social media channels and on the Ministry of Health website


Local information for people in Whanganui, Rangitikei and South Ruapehu is available on this website, the WDHB Facebook page, your local council social media pages and the Civil Defence Manawatū-Whanganui page. 


Remember to be kind, stay vigilant and look after each other.


Reset Redesign Recover Departments and wards
Health and Hospital Facilities during COVID 19 Welfare and wellbeing support
Latest news Testing for COVID 19


  • The total number of people with confirmed Covid-19 in the Whanganui Region is nine (9). 
  • All confirmed have now recovered. There have been no cases since April 2020.
  • Please visit Unite Against Covid or the Ministry of Health website for national information about Covid-19.